Skip to main content

Mike at the Laureus Sports Awards

Mike took three days out of his busy schedule to attend the 2010 Laureus Sports Awards in Abu Dhabi. Academy member since 2006, Mike appreciates the opportunity be once again with the finest selection of sports people that this world has to offer.

The 2010 Laureus World Sports Awards, recognises sporting achievement during the period January – December, 2009, and are the highest honor on the international sporting calendar. The winners are chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, including 46 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time.

The names of the winners were announced at a televised Awards Ceremony staged at the Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi on the 10th of March and was attended by global figures from the world of sport and entertainment.

Other members of the Laureus World Sports Academy present were: Giacomo Agostini, Marcus Allen, Franz Beckenbauer, Boris Becker, Ian Botham, Sergey Bubka, Nadia Comaneci, Kapil Dev, Emerson Fittipaldi, Sean Fitzpatrick, Dawn Fraser, Cathy Freeman, Mika Hakkinen, Tony Hawk, Mike Horn, Kip Keino, Edwin Moses, Nawal El Moutawakel, Robby Naish, Alexey Nemov, Morné du Plessis, Hugo Porta, Monica Seles, Daley Thompson, Alberto Tomba and Steve Waugh.

The Awards were announced in seven categories. The winners were:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Usain Bolt

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Serena Williams

Laureus World Team of the Year: Brawn GP Formula One

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Jenson Button

Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Kim Clijsters

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore

There were two additional Awards: The Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to athletics legend Nawal El Moutawakel, while American basketball star Dikembe Mutombo won the Laureus Sport for Good Award for his charitable work in the Congo.

Leave a Reply